New Telegraph

Winners Of Maltina Teachers’ Competition Savour Finland’s Capacity Training

Six past winners of the Maltina Teacher of the Year competition sponsored to Tampere, Finland, for capacity development training are savouring the training.

The capacity training and development is part of the star prizes for winning the annual Maltina Teacher of the Year competition, instituted in 2015 by the Nigerian Breweries Plc maker of Maltina Non-Alcoholic drink, and sponsored under the Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund.

It is in line with the Nigerian Breweries Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund’s commitment to Nigeria’s socio economic development, and fulfillment of its promise to the winners.

The past winners from 2019 to 2023, who are beneficiaries of the Finland capacity training, include Olasunkanmi Opeifa, the 2019 winner of the competition; Olubunmi Anani (2020 winner); Abanika Taiye (2021 winner); Alaku Ayiwulu (2022 winner); and Adeola Adefemi (2023 winner), respectively.

The two-week capacity development training, which was held in May 2024, was part of the star prizes for the overall winner of the competition, in which the teachers were said to be taken through different modules of practical-based teaching skills.

Speaking on the training, the Chairman, Nigerian Breweries Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund, Mr Hans Essaadi, explained that the training was primarily to expose the teachers to modern teaching methodologies that are productive and positively impactful to the society at large.

Essaadi stated that the programme was designed to upskill and maximise the capacity of the teachers to enable them to deliver effectively in a way that would impact and improve the performance of students, and learning outcomes in schools generally.

In their separate remarks, the past winners expressed gratitude to the management of Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund for making the opportunity a reality, while they described the experience acquired as an eye-opener, as it has further enhanced their skills not only in teaching, but also in leadership.

On her part, Adeola Adefemi, the 2023 winner of the competition, however, noted that the training was comprehensive and fulfilling, and pledged to apply her experience to the transformation of the nation’s education system.

Sharing the similar emotion, Alaku Ayiwulu, who commended the capacity building training, said the training was truly transformative exercise that offered him firsthand experience on different approaches to teaching and learning, as well as the significance of student centred collaboration in the classroom.

In his view, Abanika Taiye, described the experience as one that has created and implanted in him a conscious and consistent practice of collaborative and cooperative learning.

Similarly, Olubunmi Anani, who won the competition in 2020, expressed the differences in Nigerian and Finnish education, stating that while the Nigeria’s education system is focused on rote learning, the Finland’s model underlines equipping students with the wherewithal to become independent thinkers, creative doers, and innovative contributors.

Read Previous

MTNF Scholarship Application For Undergraduates Ends Tomorrow

Read Next

Missing Malawi Plane Found, VP, Ex-First Lady, Others Feared Dead