New Telegraph

Senate Presidency: N/Central Governors Back Sani Musa For DSP Slot

The aspiration of the Chairman, Senate Services Committee and Senator representing Niger East Senatorial District, Sani Musa, to clinch the Deputy President of the Senate position in the 10th National Assembly, has received further boost as the Governors of the North Central zone, expressed their support.

The North Central Senators-elect had on Friday evening in Abuja, endorsed Musa to emerge as the Deputy President of the Senate during the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly in June.

However, the Senators-elect met with the governors of the zone at the Kwara State Governor’s Lodge Asokoro, Abuja on Friday night shortly after they met in the Maitama area of the city centre, where they passed a resolution to support Sani Musa’s ambition.

Governors Yahaya Bello of Kogi and Abdulrahaman Abdulrazaq of Kwara State received the Senators-elect who were led by Senator Musa, the Chairman of the North Central Senators-elect Caucus.

Our Correspondent learnt that the meeting was held so that they could formally meet and familiarise themselves with their governors who are the political leaders of their various States.

They also used the opportunity to convey to the governors, the resolutions of their caucus meeting

Governor Bello, on the occasion, expressed appreciation to the Caucus for coming together for the first time to pursue the interest of the zone which he noted had never happened before.

Bello called on all the political actors in the zone from the local government elected officials, political appointees, serving and former State and National Assembly members to unite as one entity.

He also assured the federal lawmakers-elect that all the governors of the North Central geo-political zone would support their aspiration to produce a presiding officer in the 10th National Assembly.

He said, “This is the appropriate time for us to unite in order to pursue a common goal so that North Central Nigeria would take its rightful place in the affairs of the country.”

In his speech, the Kwara State Governor commended members of the caucus for coming together as a team to pursue a common goal.

Abdulrazaq said, “The fact that the elected senators from our zone, irrespective of their political party affiliation have chosen to come together to promote a common interest for the benefit of the North Central and the country, is a welcome development and highly commendable.

“We will advise the caucus to reach out to other zones with the aim of getting the required number and cooperation. All the Senators-elect should also remain focused and pursue vigorously, their quest for the highest possible leadership position in the 10th Senate.

“The Governors of the North Central geo-political zone will continue to support the aspirations of the Senators to lead the 10th Assembly by all means possible, he added.”

The Senators-elect on their part appreciated the disposition of the President-elect, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu in ensuring that fairness and equity take place in the distribution of leadership positions to all the geo-political zones.

The leader of the Caucus Senator Musa, who spoke on behalf of his colleagues, appealed to the governors to continue the quest for equity for the zone.

He said, “We are here to appreciate and congratulate our leaders and to express our commitment to one strong North Central zone. We are very aware of the permutations and schemings going on at the moment from the various geopolitical zones on the positions of leadership of the National Assembly.

“The North Central is therefore requesting that the highest hierarchy and decision organs of our great party consider the North Central zone for a position not less than the Deputy Senate President,” Musa added.

In attendance at the meeting apart from Musa were, returning Senators Isah Jibrin ( Kogi East), and Sadiq Umar Suleiman (Kwara North).

Others were Senators-elect Peter Ndalkali Jiya (Niger South), Ahmed Aliyu Wadada (Nasarawa West), Sunday Karimi (Kogi West), and Udende Memsa
Emmanuel (Benue North East).

They also included Titus Tartenger Zam (Benue North West), Hon Diket Plang (Plateau Central), Mohammed Onawo (Nasarawa South), and Engr. (Dr) Abubakar Sadiku Ohere (Kogi Central) among others.

Read Previous

Adamu Bows To Pressure, Calls For Emergency APC NWC Meeting

Read Next

After Fathering 550 Children, Court Orders Semen Donor To Stop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *