New Telegraph

Oyo Assembly Grills Makinde’s Five Commissioners-Nominee

Oyo State Assembly has approved five commissioners for the second term of Governor Seyi Makinde while expressing readiness to liaise with Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) in order to curb the persistent killings of innocent people in the state.

Five out of the seven Commissioners-designate that were screened include Prof. Daud Sangodoyin, Temilolu Ashamu, Fausat Ajoke, Adebisi Adeniyi Akinola Ojo while only Prof. Musibau Babatunde and Toyin Balogun were unscreened due to their absence.

The House has also directed the seven-man committee to inquire about persistent killings of innocent citizens at border communities in the state.

The decision followed an urgent public importance sponsored by a lawmaker representing Iwajowa, Hon. Anthony Ogunsola and seconded by a lawmaker representing Ibadan South West 1 and Deputy Chief Whip, Hon. Yusuf Adebisi.

Reference was made to the case of one Mr Olanrewaju Quadri who was killed by a stray bullet while two others: Alaba Oluwatomi and Joshua Ikeade Dada were injured on Thursday 23rd June 2023 at Iwere Ile, Iwajowa Local Government Area Council.

The House made a resolution by committing Adhoc Committee on Security in the House chaired by the Chief Whip and a member representing Atiba Constituency, Hon. Gbenga Oyekola, to liaise with the authority of the Nigeria Customs Service to discuss ways to checkmate innocent killings.

The 7-man committee chaired by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin has six other members including Committee on House Service, Public Petition, Public Account, Ethics and Privilege and Media and Public Affairs believed to take effect immediately.

Read Previous

Manchester City Complete Kovacic Signing

Read Next

Guler Identifies LaLiga Side As Preferred Next Club