New Telegraph

February 25, 2024

Omicron: Canada bans travellers from Nigeria

Canadian has extended its travel ban on travellers who recently visited Nigeria against the background of fears over the spread of the recently discovered Omicron variant of the Coronavirus in the country. This is coming two days after Canada announced that it detected its first cases of the new Omicron strain of coronavirus in two people who had travelled recently to Nigeria. Egypt and Malawi were also added to the list, making it a total of 10 countries in Africa that were handed a travel ban by Canada over concerns of the spread of the new variant.

“We are adding three countries to the list of these countries that we talked about last Friday: these are Malawi, Egypt and Nigeria,” Canadian Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos said in a statement on Wednesday. “As of today, foreign nationals who have travelled to these countries over the last 14 days will be forbidden from entering Canada.

They join a list of seven southern African countries that had restrictive measures imposed on them. “Canadian citizens and permanent residents that have been in any of these ten countries over the last 14 days will need to receive a negative PCR test before being allowed to travel to Canada. Upon arriving in Canada, they will face more testing and quarantine measures.”

Read Previous

Who’s Nigeria’s problem today?

Read Next

Ogun: Police arrest 6 alleged land grabbers over death of landlord

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *