New Telegraph

Okowa names commissioners, backs desert encroachment war

Delta State Governor, Ifeanyi Okowa, yesterday reeled out the appointment of 18 new Commissioners that will assist him to complete his administration’s “Stronger Delta mantra” in the next two years. The immediate past Com-missioner for Information, Mr. Charles Aniagwu, Commissioner for Economic Planning and Ministry of Youth Development, Dr. Barry Gbe; Mr. Ifeanyi Egwuyenga; Mrs. Flora Alanta, the former Commissioner for Women Affairs, Social and Community Development; her counterpart in Finance, Ekenmor Fidelis Tilije and Chief Festus Ochonogor, the former Housing Commissioner top the list respectively.

This came as Aniagwu joined the Governor, who was represented by the new Chief of Staff (CoS), FestusOvieAgas to lead the initiators of the Fight Against Desert Encroachment (FADE), Chief Newton Jibunor inpartnership withtheDirector- General of the Asaba Capital Territory Development Agency, Joan Onyemaechi Mrakpor at yesterday in Asaba to wage war againstdeforestationinthestate. To the effect, 10 new trees were planted at the Direct Labour Agency (DLA) Junction in the fight tagged: “Little Garden Today, Little Forest Tomorrow,” to replace some of the trees that were cut down over the years in the state and had wreaked havoc on climate change. Fresh on the list of the Commissioners were former House of Representatives member, Hon Evelyn Oboro, Jonathan Igworiwoh, Noel Omordon and Mrs. Rose Esenwu, Mr. Churchill Amagada, Arthur Akpowowo, Lawrence Ejiofor, Princess Shola Ogbemi-Daibo, Mr. Chris Onogba, Kate Oniawan and Mr. John Onyema.

Read Previous

Govs: 27 states domesticate VAPP Act

Read Next

Obaseki: NDDC has failed to live up to expectation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *