New Telegraph

Jega, Okebukola, Others Make List Of Governing Councils For 111 Tertiary Institutions

The Federal Government has released the list of governing councils for 111 federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education in the country.

This is coming after the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) issued a two weeks ultimatum to the Federal Government over reconstitution of the council’s amongst other issues., with a threat to down tools.

The list which was signed by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Didi Walson-Jack, comprised office names each for 50 universities, 37 polytechnics, and 24 colleges of education.

Amongst those appointed to lead the councils of various academic institutions were former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Attahiru Jega; two prominent Nigerian lawyers and Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Wole Olanipekun and Yusuf Alli; former Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Peter Okebukola, and labour activist, Issa Aremu.

While Mr Jega will serve as the Chairman of the Governing Council of the Usmanu Danfodio University, Sokoto (UDUS), Messrs Olanipeku, Alli, Okubukola and Aremu will chair the councils for the University of Lagos (UNILAG), Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB), University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), Rivers State, and Federal College of Education (Technical), Keana, Nasarawa State, respectively

Others on the list include the former Governor of Bauchi State, Isa Yuguda, who will chair the governing council of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN); Joy Emordi, a former Senator, who will chair the council of Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education, Owerri, Imo State, and a former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Yayale Ahmed, who is appointed to lead the council of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, Kaduna State.

Also appointed to chair the governing council of the Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo, Benue State is the immediate-past Executive Secretary of NUC, Adamu Rasheed, who resigned from office a few months into his second term in office.

The inauguration and retreat for the new governing council members is scheduled to take place on Thursday and Friday, 30 and 31 May 2024 in Abuja.

Read Previous

2027: Why I May Not Hesitate To Support Peter Obi – Atiku

Read Next

Birnin Magaji Exco Sack Zamfara APC Secretary, 3 Others