New Telegraph

Five Ex-Govs To Make Tinubu’s 42-Man Ministerial List

There are strong indications that President Bola Tinubu’s list of ministerial nominees going to the Senate for ratification in the coming days will include no fewer than five former governors.

The normal list would include nominees from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), People’s Democratic Party (PDP), and numerous technocrats. It is known as the “cabinet of (political) unity.”

Nasir El-Rufai, the former governor of Kaduna State, who was instrumental in Tinubu’s election as the APC’s presidential nominee, is one of the governors that may have been penciled in to be on the final list to be submitted to the Senate.

Others include the previous governors of Kano (Abdullahi Ganduje), Kebbi (Abubakar Atiku Bagudu), Jigawa (Muhammad Badaru Abubakar), and Rivers (Nyesom Wike). Additionally, it was learned that Senator Gbenga Daniel, a former governor of Ogun State, is preferred over Senator Ibikunle Amosun for the ministerial list.

According to the Guardian, Kayode Fayemi, a former governor of the state of Ekiti, is also a candidate for the position of foreign affairs minister. He had been the Minister of Mines and Steel during the previous administration.

Banker Senator Tokunbo Abiru is preparing to become the new finance minister in Lagos.

His decision to leave the Senate, where he now represents the Lagos East senatorial district, is intended to make room for Akinwunmi Ambode, the former governor of Lagos, to rejoin the President’s political family.


Ambode is expected to succeed Abiru in the Senate following his recent reconciliation with his godfather.

Twenty Special Advisers and 42 Ministers will make up the new cabinet.

The expected abrogation of Ministers of State would be one of the notable differences from the previous administration. The talks at the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) sessions will also include input from SAs.

Dr. Adekunle Tinubu, a personal physician, Tunde Rahman, a special assistant for media, Damilotun Aderemi, a personal assistant for political matters, Toyin Subair, a personal assistant for domestic affairs, Abdulaziz Abdulaziz, an assistant for print media, Otega Ogara, an assistant for digital/new, Demola Oshodi, an assistant for protocol, and Tope Ajayi, a personal assistant for me made

Others are Motunrayo Jinadu – SSAP; Segun Dada – SAP (Social Media); Paul Adekanye – SAP (Logistics); Friday Soton – SAP (Housekeeping); Mrs Shitta-Bey Akande – SAP (Catering); Nosa Asemota – SAP (Visual Communication) Personal Photographer; Kamal Yusuf – PA (Special Duties); Wale Fadairo – PA (General Duties); Sunday Moses – PA (Videography); and Taiwo Okonlawon – PA (State Photographer).

Read Previous

Finally, Damilola Adegbite Speaks On Why She Divorced Her Husband

Read Next

Foreign Education: Nigerians Undeterred Despite Rising Exchange Rates