New Telegraph

Edo CP gives families of slain police officers N4m

Four families of slain police officers were yesterday presented with cheques of N1 million each by the Edo State Commissioner of Police, Philip Ogbadu in Benin. The four police officers – Rufus Ojo Kosemani (DPO), Justina Aghomo, Isaac Sadoh and Glory David – were killed by gunmen on March 12, 2019 in Afuze, Owan East Local Government Area when the Police Station was attached and burnt.

At the presentation of cheques yesterday, the CP stated that the money was made available by the Edo State government that promised to give the families the money when the incident occurred, adding that the police station was rebuilt by the government and it is already in use.

The CP stated that the loss was a great one and prayed God to continue to give the families the fortitude to bear the loss. He said: “On March 12, 2019, gunmen attacked the police station in Afuze killing the DPO and three other officers. Governor Godwin Obaseki visited and promised to compensate families of the slain officers and rebuild the station.

Read Previous

Rite Foods appeals court verdict dismissing contempt suit against NBC’s MD

Read Next

Kano confirms 29 dead, 7 missing in boat accident

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *