New Telegraph

Atiku Support Group Congratulates Diri On Second Term Inauguration

The Atiku Support Group (ASG) has congratulated the Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri on the occasion of his swearing-in for a second term in office on 14 February 2024.

The group in a statement issued on Tuesday by its National Director-General Yinkasa Ibrahim described Diri as a ” patriot, a knight and one of the last great leaders flying the PDP flag”.

Ibrahim said the group made up of mostly youths across the country was certain that Diri’s experience, sincerity of purpose, and unwavering loyalty would usher in continued prosperity for the people of Bayelsa State.

He recalled how Diri stood firm in his support for Atiku despite the pressure from some of his colleagues, who formed an integrity group, to betray the former Vice-President.

He recognized Diri as a huge financier of Atiku Abubakar and the PDP in last year’s Presidential election saying the governor frustrated the ambition of a former Governor of Rivers State, Nyesom Wike, to clinch the presidential ticket of the PDP.

The statement stated “Diri was instrumental to our principal’s (Atiku Abubakar) and PDP’s great run in the last election, by the grace of God our great party will reclaim our mandate and give to the people the needed development and prosperity.

“We congratulate our leader Governor Douye Diri of Bayelsa. We thank him for his continued support of the Atiku Support Group and the Atiku course in general. With his steadfast support 2027 will tell a different story and the will of God will be done.

“We take this opportunity to condemn the economic policies of His Excellency President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, poverty and strife is the order of the day.

“The streets are no longer safe and the naira is in a free fall. It is clear to all that all that APC can offer is hardship and cluelessness. We must boot them out of office and install our very dear PDP”.

Read Previous

UK Signs Landmark Partnership With Nigeria, To Boost Trade, Investment

Read Next

APC Maintains Majority Status In Senate As Akpabio Swears In Three New Senators